Twitter icon


CQ’s founding director, Joan Eakin, retired in June 2014. To recognize Dr. Eakin's contribution of time and expertise to students doing critical qualitative health research, CQ's annual doctoral dissertation award was renamed “The Joan Eakin Award for Methodological Excellence in a Qualitative Doctoral Dissertation.” Additionally, the “Fund in Social Behavioural Health Sciences in Honour of Joan Eakin" was established, from which a monetary award prize may be drawn for several years.

You are invited to contribute to this fund in honour of Joan Eakin’s retirement and her legacy of work in critical qualitative health research, to help support University of Toronto doctoral students who are conducting qualitative research on a health-related topic. To learn more about the award please visit the Award webpage.

To contribute to the award fund, please follow this link, select your gift type, and enter the dollar amount next to ‘Social Behaviour and Health Sciences Fund in Honour of Joan Eakin.’

You can also mail a cheque payable to "University of Toronto" with "Fund in Social Behavioural Health Sciences in Honour of Joan Eakin" written in the memo section, to:

Centre for Critical Qualitative Health Research (‘CQ’)
University of Toronto
Health Science Building, Room HS551
155 College Street
Toronto, Ontario M5T 3M7

Please direct any questions about donations to or 416-978-7545.