Twitter icon



The director of CQ is Dr. Denise Gastaldo, Associate Professor, in the Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing and the Dalla Lana School of Public Health. Dr. Gastaldo served as CQ associate director from 2009 to 2014, has taught hundreds of health sciences graduate students in methodology since 1999 and has supervised more than a dozen PhD students. Her research focuses on the health consequences of social inequity and examines how discourses, power relations and economic circumstances shape people’s health promotion opportunities. For the last 20 years, Gastaldo has worked internationally to build capacity for health research and to develop critical, equitable approaches to produce transformative knowledge to achieve health for all. In the last few years, she has studied undocumented workers’ health, focusing on the demand for a cheap and highly mobile work force in high-income countries, such as Canada, which has created a large mass of residents without rights to health promotion or access to health care.

The associate director of CQ is Dr. Brenda Gladstone, Assistant Professor, in the Dalla Lana School of Public Health. She teaches graduate-level courses in the Essential of Qualitative Research Series and is a committee member for a number of Master’s and PhD students.  Dr. Gladstone is Adjunct Scientist in the Child and Youth Mental Health Research Unit at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto where she carried out SSHRC and CIHR funded studies since 1999. Brenda is recognized internationally for her innovative research with young people. Her research examines intergenerational experiences and effects of mental health and illness, an important but largely unacknowledged influence on the (mental) health and wellbeing of Canadian families. She uses multi-method qualitative, arts-based and participatory approaches to bring young people’s perspectives into critical debates about their health and social care needs by engaging families, clinicians, educators and other decision makers in an integrated knowledge creation and translation process.   

From 2009 to 2014, Dr. Joan Eakin, now Professor Emerita in the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, was the founding director. 


Advisory Board

CQ’s Advisory Board provides oversight and guidance to the director regarding 1) the needs of the qualitative research community and the health sciences academic community and 2) initiatives to enhance the Centre’s contribution to research and education. As of 2015, the Advisory Board is composed of: Eric Mykhalovskiy (York University), Mathieu Albert (Wilson Centre), Katherine Boydell (Hospital for Sick Children), Heather Boon (Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Toronto) and Ellen MacEachen (School of Public Health and Health Systems, University of Waterloo).

The centre acknowledges contributions from the previous members of the Advisory Board: Jessica Polzer, University of Western Ontario (2012-2014), Brian Hodges, Wilson Centre, University of Toronto (2010-2012).